I need a harness suggestion!

edited April 2009 in General
I've been using Lupine's Adjustable Harness for a while now, mostly because Kitsune had this fetish with chewing on his equipment when nervous, and Tsuki pulled like a maniac... having items that could be replaced for free was essential!

But they've both come a long way, thanks to clicker training and the easy walk harness, and I think we're ready to graduate.
I've started to notice hair on their chest/underside gets thin when they've been in their harness for a while, like after a few hours of hiking.

So I need something that is sturdy, but gentle at the same time. I want something that will hold up, something that can be used for both neighborhood/sidewalk walking and for rugged deep woods hiking.

I was thinking about Puppia original harnesses for both of them. I have no first hand experience with them, but I see a lot of people using them. Are they what I'm looking for??

Thanks!!

Comments

• edited November -1
    I love the Puppia harness - can't be beat personally. You can find them at the Pet Kitchen
  • edited November -1
    hmm. I absolutely love all the Ruffwear gear. Not sure if they'd be worth it, if Kitsu chews them, though. D: It gets a little costly ...
  • edited November -1
    I like the Ruffwear harness because I didn't want something that would (excessively) damage Ike's coat. There is a little padded strap in front and underneath. It seems to work Ok, but I try not to use it more than needed-for actual hiking.

You can buy custom leather harnesses, probably some out their with rolled straps as well. They do make custom harnesses for sighthounds with velvet or padded leather on the straps. I thought about that for Ike. I think the sharp edges on most straps which are nylon, or chain, will naturally shear the hair. A cotton harness may be less damaging, but I haven't tried one.
  • edited April 2009
    freaking double post again.
  • edited November -1
    thanks all!