Twix...it's not just a candy bar anymore

edited June 2009 in Akita (秋田犬)
My other thread (http://www.nihonken.org/forum/comments.php?DiscussionID=4253&page=1#Item_15) has become more of an ongoing saga than a discussion just about how to help my dogs get along. I am a new large breed owner (Maybe I should say I'm new to being owned by a large breed?) and new to dog training, so my family will have a lot of adventures.

In case you haven't been in on the previous conversations, here are some highlights.
-We adopted Twix, the American Akita, from the Salt Lake City, Utah animal shelter on June 5th, 09.
-I have a family of 6, including 4 kids from 6 to 13, my wife, and "our little dog Turbo, too!". (Wizard of Oz reference, couldn't resist.)
-Turbo is old and decrepit, Twix is 3 years old and outweighs him by about 50 pounds and 10-12 inches in height.
-Turbo is arthritic and defensive when he gets stepped on, perhaps justifiably so, but has lost the 2 tussles he's been in with Twix.
-Aside from getting along together, we are facing the challenges of crate training, leash training, obedience training, training the humans, getting along with other dogs, retaliation pooping in the crate, and all the other joys that come with our learning experiences.

In this thread I'll keep track of our progress and ask for help and advice, and I won't get snippy (sorry for that in the other thread!). Thanks for your help and input!

Comments

• edited November -1
    SO, the first update: