Advanced Training (SAR/Agility)

edited August 2009 in Behavior & Training
My question: Has anyone on the forum done agility or search and rescue training with their Nihon Ken?

I have trained a Shiba very well to basic commands as well as off-leash and to trail commands and etiquette, but I have no experience with more advanced types. For those of you who have worked with the Nihon Ken - and particularly Shikoku, do you have any comments or insights?

Comments

• edited November -1
    I will let you know next month [please remind me, I may forget!].

I'm planning on starting Agility classes with my Shikoku, Shoushuu.

Just for kicks this past Wednesday...I started him over a jump. He did it, but honestly, I don't think he was really paying attention.

Me: Shoushuu! HUP! -I keep blocking him everytime he tries to go around-
    Shoushuu: Hmmm...I can't walk through it. Not allowed to walk around it. -hops over-
    Me: Shoushuuuuuuuu, HUP!
    Shoushuu: -stares at the jump for a moment and then decides to hop over-
    Me: Shoooouuuushuuuu, HUP!
    Shoushuu: -walks to the jump and hops over-
    Me: GOOD BOY! -praises dog because he won't eat a treat or play with a toy- Shoushuuuuu, HUP!
    Shoushuu: -hops over-
    Me: What a GOOD BOY! That's my boy!
    Shoushuu: -has no clue as to why I'm shouting at him in a happy high pitched voice-
  • edited November -1
    I know a few people here in Japan that have their Kai SAR certified.
  • edited November -1
    Thanks Corina...I will ask again in a month. Good luck, I hope it goes well. I'll be really interested in what you have to say.

Walrus: Thanks for that info. It is good to know that they are working in those areas.
  • edited November -1
    I have done a beginner agility class with my male Shiba. We took the spring/summer/fall off since its been so hot.
    He's a natural, and it helps his confidence I believe.

I've considered SAR, and I think shikoku owner Heidi (hondru) has looked into it in Canada.