Teaching a puppy to swim?

edited August 2008 in General
Has anyone taught a puppy to swim and have any-tips?
I would like to take Kenshin to the beach and slowly introduce him to swimming,
I have taken him to my buildings pool, and walked him around it a few times to get used to it, then the next day dipped his back feet in on the step, and today dipped both his back and front feet to have him standing on the top step. Im not really supposed to have the dog in the pool but just wanted to get him used to the water before the scary beach with waves! Has anyone had experience teaching their puppy to swim in the ocean (supervised of course)? any tips?

Comments

• edited November -1
    My dogs all knew how to swim without ever being taught, so my advice is to just introduce them to water in a safe and fun environment. Of course, I have no ocean experience, just ponds and rivers.
  • edited November -1
    I know that some dogs love the water (we have lots of labs and lab mixes, springer type hunting dogs, etc. here in Mn that seem drawn to the water like a magnet). Others --- not so much. With Josephine and our previous dog, Joe, it seemed the best teacher was another dog because they both had an apprehension to the water. I'd look for the opprotunity where another dog is having fun in the water, and I bet you will find your doggie can't resist going in, and will likely surprise you by demonstrating swimming skills you thought you had to teach. Also, I'd say don't force the issue. If he is afraid of the water or not interested, its ok. He may also choose to join you in the water if you're out there having fun.