vaccination cost

I was trying to make an appointment for my 11 week old Kiyoshi to get his 2nd set of shots with the same vet my wife uses for our Yorkipoo. they said he would need a booster and a rabies shot for $19.50 a piece and an exam fee of $35. I thought that was kind of pricey so i called somewhere else and they told me it would be $25 for the booster and he should wait until he's 16 weeks to get his rabies shot so he won't need two. there wouldn't be any exam fee either. I was wandering what is a reasonable price to pay for shots and does it matter if i take him somewhere other than his regular vet. also, about the 2nd vet saying to wait until 16 weeks for his rabies shot, is this true? thanks

Comments

• edited November -1
    Rabies is supposed to be given at 16 weeks. I have never heard of giving one before that age and I work in the field. When giving a Rabies shot, your pet should get a full physical exam, that is the law in Michigan at least. I've seen some places charge way more than that, I think those prices sound reasonable.
  • edited November -1
    I have never heard of anyone trying to give a rabies vaccination before 16 weeks. In Virginia, they have to wait until at least 16 weeks. And ditto with Kelly on the exam. The prices sound fairly reasonable.

But I would be a bit wary of going to a vet who suggests a rabies shot at 11 weeks.
  • edited November -1
    I agree. 11 weeks is way to young. You could try your local Petco or PetSmart. They probably have vaccination day's once a month or so, they might be a little less, but $19 and $25 are really reasonable.
  • edited November -1
    Both Portia and Ninja were 16 weeks when their first Rabies shot. Portia got her 3 year Rabies shot at the beginning of the year..I think it was 15.00. I think for vaccinations 10-20 dollars is reasonable. For physical exams I think 30-50 is reasonable.
  • edited September 2008