what color is my shiba

edited November 2008 in General
is he a red sesame or just a dirty red? he is 17 weeks old right now and all of his thick coat isn't in yet. here are some pics.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

• edited November -1
    Looks sesame to me, but I'm not an expert.
  • edited November -1
    Seems to have a similar coat to Ichi. Short from those guard hairs falling out, I'd say he's a sesame (with a bright red head).

Also not an expert opinion:).

Jesse
  • edited November 2008
    Looks like a sesame. The National Shiba Club of America's breed description of coat colour has some great pictures of sesame and red. Many reds are not "true red" just as many sesames are not "true sesame". However, there is a lot of overlap in these two colours, as many reds do have a sprinkling of black tips on their back and tail as long as it's less than 25% of their total body (I believe). If the black tips evenly cover 50% of the body with no concentration in any area and not more (I think but I don't have my reference matierials), than the colour would be true sesame. More than 75% is black sesame. I honestly don't even know what to call the colour of one of my own dogs, Beebe, except to say crappy red/dirty red/red with sable due to the spattering of black on her body and tail...True sesame is hard to get but lots of reds will have a black hair or two somewhere. The dark points can lighten as they age also so you may see more red later. I am no expert either, just a fancier.
  • edited November -1