Sake Spay Questions...

Okay, I am having a delema.

Sake turns six months old on February 3, 2009. I want to get her spayed, but we will be away on our honeymoon (finally) from Feb 9th to the 15th. I could get her spayed on the 3rd and take a few days off, but I would much rather wait until after we get back to make sure her recovery goes smoothly.

Now here are my questions...is it okay to wait until the end of Feb to get her spayed? Will she go into heat? If that happens how long is heat and how long do I have to wait until after she is done with heat to get her spayed? (I've only had rescue dogs before who were already spayed so I am new to this process!)

Thanks! :)

Comments

• edited November -1
    Whenever you spay her, make sure you are able to spend a few days with her. From personal experience, boarding facilities and kennels don't really want the responsibility of looking after a fresh spay (male dogs will be very interested in her still and the activity is bad for the healing, also the other dogs will be licking her incision and she could pop some sutures.) If you can leave her with a relaible family member during your vacation for post op, that should be ok. By 6 months, shibas are smaller breeds and are more likley to go into season by then so I would personally have her spayed no later than 6 months, 5.5 months would be great.
  • edited November -1
    My vet won't do the surgery until 6 months. They always stay at a friends house when we go away and are with someone 24/7 (they even go to work with the friends!) so Im not worried about that. Plus she will have Miso to take care of her :) I think I am going to have it done on the 4th that way I can spend the 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th with her and then she will go to Peggy and Steve's where they can watch her from there. Thanks.
  • edited November -1