My friend just got a Shiba Inu and it didn't act like the other puppies I've seen

edited July 2009 in General
I'm not an expert on Shiba Inus and I've only met a handful of them. My friend just got a Shiba Inu that is around 8 weeks old and he seems to be really good. He never whines or complains and usually just sleeps all day. You put him in the crate and hes totally fine being in there. When he does play he never makes a single bark or sound. He doesn't seem to be hyper at all. Sometimes when he walks he seems to run into walls or when you bounce the ball off the wall he'll run straight into the wall. I don't know if this is normal or not but I do remember a breeder had a dog that she said was a bit slow. He was different from all the rest of the litter. My friend's dog had similar traits to that dog. He also doesn't respond to any voices or anyone. Is this normal behavior for a 8week puppy? Or is something wrong. Hes going to take him to the vet next week to make sure everything is okay.

Comments

• edited July 2009
    Well it's hard to know from what you describe without a video or seeing it first hand. It may not be a matter of being "Slow"...coordination and verbal cues takes time to build up in some puppies. Is he getting a good quality food. Poor early nutrition or lead intrusion will hinder learning in mammals.

Snf
  • edited November -1